We Were Liars ~ Non-Spoiler Review

I read this book over year ago and posted this review on my old blog, now I’ve updated it and hopefully improved it, (by getting rid of a few thousand exclamation points) so I thought I would repost it onto this blog.

Description: WeWereLiars

A beautiful and distinguished family.                                                   A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

Release Date: May 13th 2014

Length: 242 Pages

Avg Goodreads Rating: 3.87/5

My Rating: 4/5

Before I begin this review I just wanted to say that this book is one of those ones where you really don’t want to know anything about, therefore I’m not going to actually tell you any more about this book than what the description says, it’s vague for a reason and I definitely think going into this knowing absolutely nothing about it really adds to the experience.

The first thing that I actually noticed about this book is sadly a negative and that is that you are all of a sudden introduced to so many characters its hard to keep track of who is who. It soon becomes easier to understand once we learn more about the characters, but for the first 50 or so pages I had to keep flipping back and forth to the family tree, which on kindle was not an easy thing to do.

Once you get passed that and the plot starts taking off, you start noticing the amazing writing style that has this way of gripping you and it doesn’t let go, not even after you’ve finished the book. The writing really makes the book cause its so tense and mysterious, you literally cant put the book down until you’ve finished it and figured out what the hell is going on. And once you’ve done that you will immediately want to go back and reread the book.

The main character isn’t a very reliable source of information as she herself is confused about every thing that’s going on and so your constantly questioning whether what your reading is true or not. The story line goes back and forth between times which I love in books, because I feel like I’m getting the whole story, rather than just the aftermath.

This book is mysterious and tense and absolutely heart shattering. A must read. Please. READ IT!

Thanks for reading!

Jess xxxx

Leave a Reply

