Assassins Blade – Sarah J Maas Review!

The Assassins Blade is a bind up of novellas which are prequels to Throne of Glass. They follow Celeana Sardothian in her quests before she was sent to the Salt Mines in Endovia. I had already read Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight and I wanted to read these before I carried onto the third in the series Heir of Fire. The Assassin's Blade

Summery: Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan’s most feared assassin. As part of the Assassin’s Guild, her allegiance is to her master, Arobynn Hamel, yet Celaena listens to no one and trusts only her fellow killer-for-hire, Sam. In these action-packed novellas – together in one edition for the first time – Celaena embarks on five daring missions. They take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, where she fights to liberate slaves and seeks to avenge the tyrannous. But she is acting against Arobynn’s orders and could suffer an unimaginable punishment for such treachery. Will Celaena ever be truly free? Explore the dark underworld of this kick-ass heroine to find out.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children                                                                             Pages: 430                                                                                                                       Goodreads Average Rating: 4.54                                                                                     My Rating: 5 stars!!!!

The Throne of Glass series is one of my favourite series of all times for multiple reasons but the main reason I think everyone should and would love about this series is Celeana Sardothian herself. She is such an interesting and complex character, you never know what her next move is going to be (I don’t she does either really,) making the story completely unpredictable and thrilling, I always find myself on the edge of my seat while reading this series.

The Assassins blade was no exception. It was so interesting to get to know Celeana in more depth and also read about the experiences that shaped who she was in the main series. I also loved getting to know characters we’d only heard about, for example we meet Arobynn, the King of Assassins. I found him, like Celeana, to be a really complex character, but in a less positive way. At times he surprised me by acting like a caring and fatherly figure towards Celeana, but then he would do something that made me absolutely despise him. By the end my feelings towards him were so confused it kind of makes me hope he’s in the main novels at some point, while he may not be pleasant, he is very interesting to read about.

Overall I think this series is something I think everyone should give a try, it has interesting characters, a magical setting and so many twists and turns there is no time to get bored. You seriously won’t want to put this book down.

2 thoughts on “Assassins Blade – Sarah J Maas Review!

Leave a Reply

