Half Bad by Sally Green – Review

I finished this book around the start of the month (First book finished in 2015 whoop whoop!!) Me and my friend Jess (from the BookTube account thewordsiread) decided to read this together. We read 100 pages and then discussed through twitter, we have read a few books together before and every time I love the book we read, and this was no exception.

Half-Bad

Release date: March 4th 2014

Length: 394 pages

avg. Rating: 3.82

My Rating 3.5 stars.

Wanted by no one.          Hunted by everyone.

Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill. In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most terrifying and violent witch, Marcus. Nathan’s only hope for survival is to escape his captors, track down Marcus, and receive the three gifts that will bring him into his own magical powers—before it’s too late. But how can Nathan find his father when there is no one safe to trust, not even family, not even the girl he loves?

 

There was so many things about this book that I really enjoyed and I think the main one would be the twist on the witch’s. Witches are a very popular legend for authors to put a twist on and make it into their own, but I am slightly ashamed to say the only witch books I have ever read are the Harry potter series (although I have heard about a lot more.) After reading this one I have to say I will most definitely be reading more witch books in the upcoming year because I really enjoyed reading about magic and spells, and I really want to read more twists on this popular legend.

In this book there are two types of witches, good witches (known as white witches) and bad witches (known as white). The main character, Nathan, was unfortunate enough to be born with a white witch mother and a black witch father, making him ‘half bad.’ He grows up with his white witch family but is constantly being hounded by other white witches, new regulations from the white witch council always flowing in with new rules for ‘half codes’ and restricting him from the things he loves most until eventually he has no freedom at all any more and locking him up in a cage, as if he were an animal.

While there were a lot of things about this book that I liked, around three quarters of the way through I did become a little overwhelmed by all the new characters we were rather suddenly introduced and all the shocking events that happened in the span of 50 pages. I could have used a bit more time to get to know these new characters. I just ended up coming out of this book a little underwhelmed and disappointed by how things turned out.

Overall I do think this book is worth a read, I will however wait a while to continue onto the next book because of how this one ended.

Thanks for reading.

Jess xxxx

Leave a Reply

