Kiss of deception By Mary E. Pearson Review (non-spoiler)

One of the books I was gifted for Christmas was Kiss of deception by Mary E. Pearson and I immediately picked it up and could not stop reading it throughout the day. Even during Christmas dinner I was itching to finish so I could get back to this exciting and intriguing book.

Description: This follows a princess called Lia who is trapped in an arranged marriage she does not want. The day before the wedding she and her friend/maid run away to a village where they start new lives as bar maids.

After a while two strange men turn up in the village and Lia immediately feels drawn to them. But what she doesn’t know is that one of the men is the prince she was going to marry and the other is an assassin who has been ordered to kill her.

First instalment of the Remnant Chronicles

Release date: July 8th 2014

Publisher: Henry Holy

Length: 492

Avg rating on goodreads: 4.05

My Rating: 5 stars

I was obsessed with this book right from page one, the first page immediately has you curious about this new fantastical land with new traditions and rituals. This was defiantly one of my favourite bits about this book. The fact that the world was so well described and had so many interesting elements added to it such as professions, history and beliefs, it made it feel so real to me.

I knew I was going to like Lia before I even read this book. Any girl who doesn’t go through with an arranged marriage with someone they don’t even know just because of ‘tradition’ is all right in my books. She is so headstrong and kind-hearted but also very real. She wasn’t an unstoppable character who could take down five men three times her size with one sword, but she could win over their hearts with her kind words and brave actions. She fought through everything. She was beaten down constantly, but she still never lost herself and who she was. She always knew what the right thing to do was, even if it wasn’t the right thing for her in the end.

Not only did I love Lia but also her best friend Paulline. She was the person who helped her run away to the village, showing not only is she a good friend, but a brave one, seeing as she could have been killed by the guards had they been caught. I really admired her for what she did and also some other things that she goes through in this book.

I should also probably mention the prince and the assassin before I end this review. Notice how I’m not telling you their names? That’s because the book is so cleverly written, you don’t actually know who the prince is and who the assassin is. This added and entirely new element to the book because it constantly had you wanting to turn the page and carry on reading to find out who it is. Another reason why I gave this book 5 stars.

In the end this was a great book to read, I never wanted to put it down and it had me turning the pages during late nights (or early mornings in some cases). If you need a new fantasy book with an amazing female lead, two hot dreamy guys and a medieval type feel, this is the book for you.

Thank you for reading

Jess xxx

Leave a Reply

