Sisters Red Review.

Sorry I haven’t updated in a week. If you remember my last post was on the #AYEARATHON Fairy Tale retellings read-a-thon. I was going to make this one a wrap up post but unfortunately I was only able to read one book that week, so I thought instead I would just do a review for that book.

The book I was able to read was Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce.

Goodreads Synopsis:      Scarlett March lives to hunt the Fenris–the werewolves that took her eye when she was defending her sister Rosie from a brutal attack. Armed with a razor-sharp hatchet and blood-red cloak, Scarlett is an expert at luring and slaying the wolves. She’s determined to protect other young girls from a grisly death, and her raging heart will not rest until every single wolf is dead.

Rosie March once felt her bond with her sister was unbreakable. Owing Scarlett her life, Rosie hunts ferociously alongside her. But even as more girls’ bodies pile up in the city and the Fenris seem to be gaining power, Rosie dreams of a life beyond the wolves. She finds herself drawn to Silas, a young woodsman who is deadly with an ax and Scarlett’s only friend–but does loving him mean betraying her sister and all that they’ve worked for?

I wasn’t completely impressed with this book. It was a good concept but I’ve honestly never really been a huge fan of the red riding hood fairy tale in the first place, always being a fan of Cinderella and Beauty and the Beast. So seeing as this is a red riding hood re-telling I was completely excited about it.

We immediately get into the fairy tale and I really like how Jackson Pearce twisted it and made it into a completely other story, the concept of Red Riding being a bad ass female character who was vengeful towards the Fenris just sounded like an epic concept and I really enjoyed that aspect of the story. However her need to kill the Fenris seemed more like an obsession to me, I would even go as far as to say it was a addiction for her, like she couldn’t stop herself from killing these wolves because of what one did to her Nan and her face.

I did feel very sorry for the characters for different reasons. I felt sorry for Scarlet because she would never have a choice to become a normal girl, because of what the wolf had done to her face, and so she feels as though its her duty to save people from the same fate. I also feel very sorry for her sister Rosie, cause she has the chance to be a normal girl (which Scarlet is clearly rather jealous about), and wants that more then anything. But she’s very loyal to her sister, not to mention owes her her life, and doesn’t want to let her down or leave her alone, and so she’s stuck between being happy and being loyal.

And then we have our third main character Silas, love interest of Rosie, part of a major plot twist (which I guessed in the first few chapters) and honestly rather boring. As far as I can tell he doesn’t really have much of a personality, and I find it slightly disturbing that he and Rosie started dating.. seeing as he’s 21 and she’s 16 and has no real parental figure what so ever. I personally would have loved it if Scarlet was the love interest, cause then maybe SHE would get a chance of happiness.

Overall I gave this book 2.5 stars (2 stars on goodreads cause it has a stupid rating system.) I would definitely say this book is worth a read if your a fan of red riding hood or like the sound of the twist Jackson put on it, but if your not, don’t bother.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

